Discovering Wes Moore

Trade Paperback

Buy
Add Discovering Wes Moore to Goodreads

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turned into a movie produced by Oprah Winfrey.
 
The story of “the other Wes Moore” is one that the author couldn’t get out of his mind, not since he learned that another boy with his name—just two years his senior—grew up in the same Baltimore neighborhood. He wrote that boy—now a man—a letter, not expecting to receive a reply. But a reply came, and a friendship grew, as letters turned into visits and the two men got to know each other. Eventually, that friendship became the inspiration for Discovering Wes Moore, a moving and cautionary tale examining the factors that contribute to success and failure—and the choices that make all the difference.
 
Two men. One overcame adversity. The other suffered the indignities of poverty. Their stories are chronicled in Discovering Wes Moore, a book for young people based on Wes Moore’s bestselling adult memoir, The Other Wes Moore.
 
Includes an 8-page photo insert.

Praise for Discovering Wes Moore
 
“Moore wisely opens the door for teens to contemplate their own answers and beliefs, while laying out his own experiences honestly and openly.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“He argues earnestly and convincingly that young people can overcome the obstacles in their lives when they make the right choices and accept the support of caring adults.”—Kirkus Reviews

Praise

Praise for Discovering Wes Moore

"This adaptation . . . makes for a hopeful and inspiring story."--Kirkus Reviews

Praise for The Other Wes Moore: One Name, Two Fates

“Moore vividly and powerfully describes not just the culture of the streets but how it feels to be a boy growing up in a world where violence makes you a man.”—O: The Oprah Magazine

“A moving exploration.”—Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
 
“A haunting look at two lives.”—Booklist, Starred Review
 

Indocumentados

English edition: THE UNDOCUMENTED AMERICANS, by Karla Cornejo Villavicencio [One World, 3/24/2020]One of the first undocumented immigrants to graduate from Harvard reveals the hidden lives of her fellow undocumented Americans… More

Four Hundred Souls

A choral history of African Americans covering four hundred years in the voices of ninety writers, edited by Ibram X. Kendi, author of How to Be an Antiracist, and Keisha N. Blain,… More